Posted in Regular Update

Professional Development Lending Library

I am fortunate that in the early stages of my teaching career I’ve had great mentors. I have had wonderful coworkers take me under their wing, give me advice, and guide me as I still have so much to learn. I am grateful to be able to call these wonderful people my friend, and I am grateful for everything that they have taught me and that I’m sure they will teach me.

One of the greatest things I’ve been offered through these mentors is a wealth of professional texts to read. That phrase, professional texts, sounds really stuffy. I’m not talking about anything stuffy. I’m talking about books that talk about grammar and writing and poetry. I’m talking about books that give me ideas about how to teach. I’m talking about books that can help make me my best me.

I wouldn’t have necessarily found these books on my own because I wouldn’t necessarily have known where to look. Maybe at some point I would have stumbled upon them, but that certainly is no guarantee. And I would be woefully lost without some of these books now that I know they exists. (Can you miss something you never had?)

I don’t own any of these books right now. I’ve been fortunate enough to borrow them, take notes on them, make photocopies of pages I don’t want to wait to own myself. I am forever grateful for the coworkers who have been willing to share, and I hope to one day be able to share with the next generation of teachers.

BB

Leave a Reply

