Posted in Book Nook

I Love Young Adult Literature and I Think It’s Important

Anyone who’s been to the library or a bookstore with me knows I love Young Adult Literature. It’s the section I automatically gravitate towards. It’s not that I don’t appreciate and love children’s book and the books found in the “grown up” section because I do. But there’s something magical about YAL that keeps bringing me back. Here are a few, more concrete, contributing factors:

  1. I work in a middle school/high school environment. I want to know what my kids are reading, and I want to be able to make book recommendations.
  2. It’s GOOD WRITING. And when one chooses to read, shouldn’t they choose something that’s well-written?
  3. These aren’t fluff books. They have real characters that deal with real problems. And dealing with the real is awesome and so important.

These are just some of the reasons I love YAL. I think it’s so important for young adults to have books that contain characters and situations they can connect with. I will always be a proponent of this branch of literature.

BB

Leave a Reply

